granny pat’s cheese puffs – *squeal of delight*

Cheese SconesIt’s not quite the same as when my wonderful grandmother makes these, but this is one of the simplest recipes I know for a deeelicious brunch food. Of course, I made the fatal mistake of making this at home when I still lived with my folks and they decided I made them best, so it was one of my designated dishes. I bequeath Granny Pat’s cheese puffs now to you, dear reader.

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup grated cheese (I like a combo of old cheddar and whatever else I have – harvarti, swiss, mozarella – whatever floats your cheese boat)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • a pinch of cayenne pepper – use a hearty pinch if you like a bit of spice, a more delicate one if you’re a wussy.
  • I tend to skip this, but you can add a pinch of salt if you so desire.

Throw everything in a bowl, stir it up, and spoon the mix into a muffin/cupcake tray. You can grease the tray if you like, but I tend to forget and simply use a butter knife to pop the little suckers out of there. Bake on 350F/180C for about 15-20 minutes, or until you see them get all nice and golden brown.

Granny P would cut a slit in the poor dears after baking and put a generous hunk of cheese along with a hunk of butter in them (because a cup of cheese is never quite enough). I tend to serve them with apricot jam and a bit of extra grated cheese – the sweet jam works really well with the spicy cheesiness.Cheese Scones

Puff away.

PS – they’re supposed to be fairly small and crispy – they aren’t scones, so don’t expect a large end product, unless you make double the mix.

PPS – you can double or halve this mixture really easily by just doubling or halving all the ingredients, so you can make enough for one or many. Just don’t let your people know you can make these otherwise there will be no rest on Sundays.

One Comment Add yours

Got a sin to share?

