Ginger Tofu Stirfry With Home-Grown Chard & Egg-Fried Rice

Yummity yum. I alwayGinger roots forget how a quick and easy stir fry can be THE best meal – not only because it takes so little time to make, but also because it gives you the opportunity to play with flavours, and it is satisfying and (relatively) healthy. Last night I made a delicious, impromptu ginger marinated tofu with egg-fried rice, Swiss chard right from the garden, baby spinach, and peppers.

Feeds three not so hungry people, or just me and my very hungry Partner in Crime.

Marinated Tofu:

  • 1 x packet of extra firm tofu
  • roughly 1 tsp fresh ginger, skinned and chopped finely (COOKING TIP: cut larger chunks of ginger if you want to remove them more easily when you eat the meal – I don’t bother as I like the taste)
  • 1 clove of garlic chopped finely (COOKING TIP: squash the garlic with the flat side of a knife and leave it for a while before you chop – this really brings out the garlickyness)
  • a generous sprinkle of cumin
  • a sprinkle of home-dried, home-grown basil
  • about 3 tablespoons of soy sauce
  • a few blobs of sweet and sour sauce

I chopped the tofu up into bite sized chunks and then threw it into a Tupperware. I then added all the ingredients, put the lid on, and shook it all together. I left it to stand with the lid on while I prepared everything else. If you were someone who actually planned meals in advance, rather than as you go, then you may consider doing this earlier in the day. However, the flavours are so strong that I don’t think it really needs to sit that long.

Egg-Fried Rice

I had about half a cup to 3/4 of a cup of left-over brown basmati rice from a previous meal. The rice was still in a pot, so all I did was add a generous amount of olive oil and started frying the rice. I then added one large egg (you could beat it first; I chose to scratch it into the rice with a spoon). I stirred it together until the egg was most of the way cooked and removed it from the heat. If you don’t have left-over rice to use, then you could cook some before you start prepping everything else.

Stir-Fried Vegetables

  • half a yellow pepper (sliced)
  • half a red pepper (sliced)
  • about a cup of baby spinach (hand shredded)
  • about 4 leaves of red swiss chard (stalks removed and chopped into small pieces)
  • about two leaves of green swiss chard (stalks removed and chopped into small pieces)
  • about 1 tbls flax seeds (I cooked this with the tofu, but they can be added to any step of the process)

In our large wok (slightly worse for wear after much use, but it’s still got it), I heated up a generous swish of olive oil (make sure to coat the sides of the wok with it). I fried the peppers first on high, then added the chard and spinach.

At the same time, in a separate frying pan, I fried the tofu in olive oil on high heat, with the flax seeds.

Once the veggies were partially cooked, I added in the tofu and the fried rice and cooked them altogether to mush all the flavours together. Before adding the tofu to the stir fry, I set a few pieces aside to cool – this makes a really good snack!

I didn’t have a chance to take a picture because it got devoured so quickly, but it was tasty and colourful and although it may sound like a lot of work, it took about 10-15 minutes to make the whole meal.

Got a sin to share?

