Grilled Teriyaki Salmon, with Hot Potato Salad and Pesto Tortellini Salad

I am more than a little proud of this Teriyaki Salmon with Pesto Tortellini and Hot Potato Saladsperfect summer meal… it turned out really, really well. Using the pesto I made a while ago and froze, I made a cold feta and pesto tortellini salad, grilled a lovely bit of salmon that I marinated in teriyaki sauce and fresh basil, and I also made a hot potato salad (one of my favourite dishes).

Teriyaki Marinated Salmon Fillet

  • 1 x wild Pacific salmon fillet (deboned, skinned – not by me, my friends)
  • about 4 tbls teriyaki sauce
  • a dribble of olive oil
  • 3-4 fresh basil leaves

I put the piece of wild salmon on a side plate in the fridge to defrost (I try and keep some in my freezer for just such an occasion; the only problem is that usually I forget to take it out in time!). Once it was slightly defrosted, I poured the teriyaki sauce over the fish and added the basil, returning it to the fridge. I made sure the fish was properly coated in marinade, dribbled a bit of oil on it, and turned it over a few times. Obviously if you are cooking for more than just one person, then you need to increase the teriyaki sauce amount. I did this at lunch-ish time, so it was well-marinated by dinner time.

Pesto and Feta Cheese Tortellini SaladGrilled Teriyaki Salmon

  • about 3 tbls home-made pesto
  • pre-cooked fresh cheese tortellini (cooled)
  • about a tbls of crumbled feta cheese
  • olive oil
  • pepper

Using some left over tortellini from a previous meal, I simply stirred in a generous amount of pesto, added the olive oil, crumbled in the feta, and seasoned with pepper. If it’s too dry, then simply add more olive oil.

I grilled the salmon on the BBQ until it was deliciously flakey, grilled a fake chicken breast for the Partner in Crime, and served with a hot potato salad. Best eaten outside in the evening sun on the back deck…

One Comment Add yours

Got a sin to share?

