“It’s the Best Carrot Cake I’ve Ever Had”* Recipe

Carrot CakeA long time ago I found a delicious carrot cake cupcake recipe (I think it was on Epicurious) and have adapted it before into a carrot loaf, but also made the cupcakes (with my own additions, honed over time). I also added an icing that I had from an old microwave recipe book. Today (for a belated Mother’s Day lunch), I took it another step further and made a carrot cake using the same recipe. It was bloody spectacular, if I may say so myself.

Cake Ingredients

  • Roughly 4 handfuls of baby carrots (I find them sweeter and juicier than large carrots) – needs to be about 4 cups grated
  • 1/2 cup mixed nuts or just pecans – grated
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tsps baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 5 large eggs
  • 2 cups light brown sugar
  • 2 tsps pure vanilla essence/extract

Cake Preparation

Pre-heat the oven to 180c/350F.

Grate the carrots coarsely – I use my food processor but you could use a hand grater. I then grate the nuts without cleaning it out and combine these in a large bowl. Mix together the carrots and nuts with the oil, eggs, brown sugar, and vanilla. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices. Then add the flour mixture to the carrot mixture, stirring until it’s just combined.

Grease 2 cake tins and divide the mixture between the two. I baked them for about 20 mins and then checked to see if they were cooked by using a non-disposable chopstick. I then baked them for about another 10 minutes til they had risen nicely, looked browner on top, and the chopstick came out clean. I then put them on a cooling rack.

Icing Ingredients

  • 500ml icing/confectioner’s sugar
  • +- 200ml cream cheese
  • 50ml soft butter (don’t melt it, just take it out the fridge before you get going)
  • 2 tsps vanilla
  • 2 tsps lemon juice

Icing Preparation

Cream the butter and sugar together and then add the rest of the ingredients. If you want more icing, then add a bit more cream cheese and sugar, and a bit more lemon and vanilla (I usually just, at this point, go on taste and how much I need). Once the cakes are properly cooled, put one on a decent sized plate, ice the middle, put the 2nd layer on and then ice again. I like to top it with pecan nuts to decorate.

Recipe Variations:

For carrot cake cupcakes: Halve the recipe, and spoon into paper liners in a muffin pan. Bake for about 20-25 minutes (do the knitting needle/chopstick/wooden pick test)

For a carrot loaf: Halve the recipe, spoon into a greased loaf pan, and bake for about 45 mins – 1 hour, depending on your oven.

*Quote from The Partner in Crime.

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Thanks! let me know if you try it and if so, how it works out đŸ™‚

Got a sin to share?

